Women's
Men's
Kids'
Gear
Facility
Shop By Activity
Shop Sale
Shop By Brand

Am I the only male left who wears briefs/racers?

• I have been swimming for over 12 years now and I still try to keep a regular lap swim exercise schedule. I was on a Masters team at my old University's pool for a brief period before I had to move, so now I"m just on my own.

Now what has gotten me amazed in those 12 short years is that I feel like I'm the only one left who still wears the briefs/racer style suit when I swim. All the other males I see at the pool are in jammers or very long square leg style for lap swimming.

For what it's worth, I"m 35 6'2" and 178 pounds and I am active US Army so I keep myself in good shape. But I just feel like I'm the odd duck at every pool these days.

Any thoughts?

• You are not the only one wearing briefs. I am 29 and I wear briefs when I lap swim. I do switch back and forth from Jammers to Briefs. Jammers for days that I have master swim and briefs when I am swimming by myself. I just recently started swimming with briefs and haven't gotten 100% comfortable with wearing them in a group but I will get there eventually.

• Briefs are still out there. We have a good mix of everything at my pool. Mostly those that come from a swimming/triathlete background are sporting the briefs. Our more adventurous lap swimmers are sticking to the square suit or jammers and the in-experienced folks round out the group in their trunks. If you were to come out on Wednesday night, you'd be in good company in your briefs.

• Rodney L said:

You are not the only one wearing briefs. I am 29 and I wear briefs when I lap swim. I do switch back and forth from Jammers to Briefs. Jammers for days that I have master swim and briefs when I am swimming by myself. I just recently started swimming with briefs and haven't gotten 100% comfortable with wearing them in a group but I will get there eventually.